Workbench review
Workbench
Independent Cardiff Bay / Ocean Park operator across three buildings. Best-value bundle found in Cardiff: £30 for address, mail and 2 meeting-room hours. The £120 twelve-month prepay works out at £10/month for address only. Call charges on the Ultimate plan are extra: £1 per answered call, 8p per minute line charge. VAT treatment not stated.
- From £20 a month
- 3 UK addresses
- 4 plans compared
Workbench plans and prices
Prices read from workbenchoffice.com on 8 September 2026. Always confirm on the provider's own site before you buy.
| Plan | Price | Billed | Term | Registered office | Post | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Address & Mail Handling | £20/mo + VAT | Monthly | Rolling | Included | — | Check |
| Address, Mail & Meeting Rooms | £30/mo + VAT | Monthly | Rolling | Included | — | Check |
| Ultimate Package (Address, Mail & Phone Support) | £50/mo + VAT | Monthly | Rolling | Included | — | Check |
| Address Only (12 months prepaid) annual rate | £120/yr + VAT | Yearly | 12 months | Included | — | Check |
What Workbench includes
Taken from the plan with the most included. A cross does not always mean unavailable, it can mean sold separately, which we show as an extra.
Address
- Registered office address
- Director's service address
- Business trading address
- Prestige postcode
- Multiple addresses on one account
Post and parcels
- Accepts all your business post
- Collect post in person
- Post forwarded to a UK address
- Post forwarded overseas
- Post scanned and emailed
- Same-day scanning
- No per-item mail charge
- Parcels and signed-for items
Phone
- Local phone number
- Receptionist answers your calls
- Calls forwarded to your mobile
- Voicemail sent to email
Desks and meeting rooms
- Meeting rooms bookable
- Meeting room hours included 2 hours per month on the £30 and £50 plans
- Hot desk days included
- Business lounge access
Contract and cost
- Rolling monthly, no long tie-in
- No setup fee
- No deposit
Extras
- Company formation included
- Business bank account introduction
- VAT registration help
Where Workbench has addresses
Who Workbench suits
Workbench sells the address and the post handling around it, without a building attached. For most small companies that is the sensible middle of this market.
What we noticed
Independent Cardiff Bay / Ocean Park operator across three buildings. Best-value bundle found in Cardiff: £30 for address, mail and 2 meeting-room hours. The £120 twelve-month prepay works out at £10/month for address only. Call charges on the Ultimate plan are extra: £1 per answered call, 8p per minute line charge. VAT treatment not stated.
Alternatives to Workbench
Providers covering similar ground, so you can see whether Workbench is actually the right pick.
Virtually There
One of the very few suppliers with an unambiguous VAT statement - the site states all prices shown exclude VAT - which makes it ea
From £10 a monthVirtual HQ
THE WIDEST UK COVERAGE of any address-only supplier found: 152 UK locations, far more than any other independent checked. Offers m
From £7.99 a monthLowCost LetterBox
Budget Fitzrovia W1 provider with an unusually fast scanning tier (4-hour).
From £10 a monthCompanies MadeSimple
TRAP 1: the £99.99 +VAT registered office price is displayed with NO billing period on the product page; confirmed annual only via
From £9.99 a monthRansom Wood Business Park
Independent Nottinghamshire business park near Mansfield (not one of the ten target cities but a genuine regional Midlands operato
From £36 a monthVulcan Works
Northampton Cultural Quarter workspace (converted Victorian warehouse), the strongest independent option found for Northampton. Pa
From £10 a monthHead to head
Workbench: common questions
How much does Workbench cost?
Its cheapest published plan works out at about £20 a month. Check whether post forwarding and a director's service address are included, because on most plans in this market they are extra.
Can I use Workbench as my registered office?
Only on a plan that explicitly includes registered office use. Several providers sell a business address that is not valid at Companies House, so check the plan table above rather than assuming.
What ID do I need to sign up?
Photo identification and a proof of address dated within the last three months. Every UK provider of registered office services must run these checks before acting for you.
Two minutes, no sign-up
Compare every virtual office
Tell us roughly what you need and we'll rank every provider that covers you, with the real monthly price and what each one actually includes. If you don't know what you need, say so and we'll show you sensible all-rounders.